Scottish Parliament - North East MSPs - North East of Scotland  
North East MSPs    

North East of Scotland

The North East Scotland region is a huge and diverse area which stretches from Dundee in the South to the Buchan coast in the far north east and Buckie in the far north west. It is a region full of contrasts and in many ways a microcosm of Scotland as a whole ranging from urban wards in Aberdeen and Dundee which are amongst the poorest in Scotland to wealthy commuter and market towns and again to remote and marginal rural communities in areas like the Cairngorms.

The North East region - in its current state - is based on the following 9 Scottish Parliamentary constituencies: Aberdeen North, Aberdeen Central, Aberdeen South, Aberdeenshire West & Kincardine, Angus, Banff & Buchan, Dundee East, Dundee West and Gordon.

The key industries across the region include tourism, agriculture, fishing, manufacturing, biotechnology and oil and gas related employment with Aberdeen being Europe's oil capital and a driver of the whole Scottish and UK economy. The only Scottish Parliament region to contain two of Scotland's four main cities, Aberdeen and Dundee both serve as regional hubs and have world renowned medical and educational facilities as well as a range of high quality cultural attractions.

  Top of page  
Corner � Scottish Conservative North East MSPs Legal disclaimer > Corner